Home

Placation = dirty word. The dictionary definition of a placation is:

verb (used with object), pla·cat·ed, pla·cat·ing. to appease or pacify,
especially by concessions or conciliatory gestures: to placate an outraged citizenry.

I’ve spent countless hours despising placations because they don’t really make anything better. I understand they come from a place of genuine caring and affection. I also understand they are a lot better than the alternative. Seriously! Would you rather have someone say, “The right job will come; I just know it” or “You’re not very talented. I can understand why no one has hired you“? Think about it! It’s a pretty easy choice, huh?

Maybe it’s my overwhelming maturity rearing its ugly head here, but I want to humbly say thank you to those who have placated me in the recent years. (gasp!)

I will now take this moment to address my 3 most disliked placation phrases and why I’m OK with them now.

“The right job is out there. You’ll get it when it’s right” – I agree. I waited, against my will, and where I am right now is magical. Yes, I said magical. It’s amazing to come home at the end of the day and exclaim I REALLY like my job!

“Your prince will come” – No, please say this one again… I like the feeling of a knife twisting. But in all seriousness, I have never been in the right place in my life to find my life mate. I feel like I’m getting there and the closer I get, the more I realize how far away I was before. Please note: If you see my prince sauntering this way, tell him to get his butt in gear and move a little faster. I’m not going to look like this forever!

“Don’t wish away your life” – Deal! When I was 16 all I wanted to be was 21. When I was 21, all I wanted to be was 26. Well, now that I’m 26 I think I’ll stay right here. I’m enjoying my story; I don’t need to flip ahead anymore. Maybe it’s my new sense of adventure that’s allowing me to say this boldly, or maybe I’m going clinically insane. I’m hoping it’s the adventure. (Does anyone else see the dancing elves on the computer screen?)… (See what I did there?!)

Placation = dirty word BUT I’m ok with it. It comes from people who know me and love me more than I can grasp. It comes from people who really only want the best for me. I fully believe it comes from their sense of hope. My new plan is to make some of that rub off on me while I wait, live and be excited for what is happening right now.

Side note: Have you ever had one of those moments where you realize that everything you think you wanted a year ago never happened and you couldn’t be more happy about it?! Yeh. Praise God for writing me a better story than I ever could!

3 thoughts on “Placation

  1. I am really glad you are in this place and that MY favorite placation didn’t make the list:) “Anything worth having is worth waiting for!” Love YOU:)

What do you think? Share you thoughts.